Angela's English classes

Exercises, resources, tips, ideas and a dose of fun

Activity to practice ‘going to’

Deja un comentario

Practicing grammar to talk about the future didn’t seem very challenging for my Junior classes, especially because it was something that had already seen before in another cycle. They practiced the use of going to make predictions  based on evidence and to talk about plans.

Finding a wallet with cash in it on the street presents a moral dilemma.  I took out a wallet and claimed I found it on the street in the morning. My students discussed what I was going to do with it. First, I gave them an idea and they had to think of more.

I am going to take a picture of the wallet and put Lost wallet signs on the streets.

After dealing with the grammar introduction on the book and some activities I had them perform a group task:

1. Individually think  of an action you are going to do.Don’t say or write the action.

2. Think about the following questions:

  • What do I need to do it?
  • Where am I going to do it?
  • When am I going to do it?
  • How long is the task going to take?

3.Complete the diagram but keep your action secret

EGp

4. Partners have to ask information questions first. Example answers:

  • I am going to need my running shoes.
  • I am going to do it in the park.
  • I am going to do it next weekend in the morning.
  • It’s going to take 30 minutes.

5. After collecting the information they have to make Yes/No questions:

Are you going to :

  • go for a walk ┌( ̄ー ̄)┘  ?
  • run ┌(;・_・)┘  ?
  • take your dog for a walk  U・ェ・U ?
  • play soccer    ┌(;・_・)┘ ))●?
  • They tried to guess with my example but they could’t. The answer was do Tai-Chi! They complained that that is only for elderly people. They don’t have to mention all the elements they need so it’s more difficult to guess.

I showed them parts of this video to clarify Tai chi isn’t only to exercise: Tai chi techniques application

*Other activities I included:

1)Flashcards of actions on the walls. SS walk around and discuss what is going to happen next.

2)Videos: Stop the video before an action takes places. SS predict what is going to happen Look for videos with unexpected outcomes.

3)Prediction: Show a crystal ball.

Discuss topics for predictions.

Give out strips of paper. SS write a prediction for someone in the class. Show examples of predictions.Mix strips and have ss take one. Make sure they don’t get theirs again. SS read them and tell their partner whether they liked their prediction or not and if they think it’s likely to happen.

Once I used paper fortune cookies.

Paper fortune cookies tutorial

 

 

 

 

Autor: satoangela

English teacher at a language institute in LIma, Peru. Interested in sharing, learning. Looking for more communication, innovation, motivation and other -tions :)

Responder

